Darwen Tower, Lancashire

Drone Footage

In this recent footage, I walked along the well-defined path toward Darwen Tower. As I got to the moorland, it did get quite windy but despite the wind, I managed to get some great footage of the tower. Interestingly, you can also see Sunnyhurst Hey Reservoir in the footage and in some of the photos. However, it was discontinued in 2008 and there is only a pond remaining in the encroaching grassland.

The octagonal Darwen Tower (also known as Jubilee Tower) is a historical landmark situated at the top of Darwen Hill in Lancashire, England. It is a Grade II listed structure built in 1898 to commemorate Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee. It also celebrated the locals’ right to access the moorland footpaths again after the Lord of the Manor of Over Darwen, the Reverend William Arthur Duckworth, blocked access to it in the 1870s, which was finally overturned by the courts in September 1896.

The tower is 86 feet high. Walkers can climb to the top of the tower via an internal staircase with amazing 360-degree panoramic views of Darwen Moor and in the distance North Yorkshire, Morecambe Bay, Blackpool Tower, Cumbria, the Isle of Man, North Wales, Derbyshire and Lancashire. It was closed when I visited, it looked like renovation work was taking place.

Using My Footage

There are 21 clips in this set of Darwen Tower aerial footage. The featured video above demonstrates some of them. My footage is available to license for use in personal or commercial projects. This drone footage is in 4K at 30FPS. This enables you to zoom/crop if you need HD footage and the frame rate allows you to slow down the footage to 80% to achieve 24FPS. It is shot using the D-Cinelike setting for a flatter colour profile so that you can use your grading preference. The footage has not been coloured graded or altered. All files are MP4.

To use my video clips in your project, please get in touch via the button below with more information.

Preview Files

The preview files are heavily compressed to reduce their size and prevent unauthorised use. These files are for assessment purposes only and can be downloaded and shared to assess suitability for use in your project.


Photos

These are photos I took during my trip to Darwen Tower.

Photo Usage

You can download and use my photographs for personal and non-commercial projects but I do request that you credit me and link to my website. Also, it is great to know where you are using them, so feel free to email me, I would love to know! 🙂 For licensing please use the appropriate licensing options available when you click on a photo.


Location

All media gathered on location in July 2022.


Music

The music in this video is listed below to license from BeanstalkAudio.com. It can be licensed for use in your media projects from £2.95

The music used is inspiring and cinematic, perfect for inspirational listening, music for scenic landscapes, nature films and documentary content.

0:00 Achieving Goals – https://www.beanstalkaudio.com/royalty-free-audio/achieving-goals
2:30 Dreaming Awake – https://www.beanstalkaudio.com/royalty-free-audio/dreaming-awake
4:42 Hills in the Sky – https://www.beanstalkaudio.com/royalty-free-audio/hills-in-the-sky
7:37 Climb the Highest Mountain – https://www.beanstalkaudio.com/royalty-free-audio/climb-the-highest-mountain
9:52 The Great Journey – https://www.beanstalkaudio.com/royalty-free-audio/the-great-journey
13:03 Some Other Time – https://www.beanstalkaudio.com/royalty-free-audio/some-other-time
15:29 Flying Through the Clouds – https://www.beanstalkaudio.com/royalty-free-audio/flying-through-the-clouds
17:25 The Miracle – https://www.beanstalkaudio.com/royalty-free-audio/the-miracle
19:47 In the Infinity – https://www.beanstalkaudio.com/royalty-free-audio/in-the-infinity
22:10 The Long Journey – https://www.beanstalkaudio.com/royalty-free-audio/the-long-journey

The music starts again at 24:37.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.